Arkansas completes sweep of Alabama

Four-star offensive tackle Amari Kight committed to Alabama Sunday.
Joey Logano celebrates his victory at the GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway, April 29. 2018. (Photo, NASCAR)

Races at Talladega Superspeedway are always a bit rough, and Sunday’s GEICO 500 was no different.

Let’s check out video of the two big wrecks that took place at Sunday’s contest at the Alabama racetrack–which was won by Joey Logano in his first victory of the 2018 season.

The first stage went relatively unscathed, but then things got busy.

During the second stage, the first big wreck took place on the backstretch. Erik Jones, Jamie McMurray, Trevor Bayne, Kyle Larson and Martin Truex Jr. were all involved in this one.

Contact on exit of Turn 2 leads to carnage.Jones, McMurray, Larson & Truex Jr. among those involved. #GEICO500

— NASCAR (@NASCAR) April 29, 2018

In the final stage, with just 20 laps to go, a huge wreck affected 13 different cars. The wreck, which happened while Joey Logano led, began when Jimmie Johnson and William Byron initially hit–then spread quickly to the crowd around them. Affected were Brad Keselowski, Austin Dillon, Ryan Blaney, Clint Bowyer, Kyle Busch, Paul Menard, Byron, Michael McDowell, Bubba Wallace, AJ Allmendinger, Johnson, Brendan Gaughan, Cole Whitt and Kasey Kahne.

The Big One strikes at @TalladegaSuperS.#GEICO500

— NASCAR (@NASCAR) April 29, 2018

That wreck started when Johnson got loose in front of Hendrick Motorsports teammate Byron. The wreck took out the five-time Talladega winner Keselowski, who was considered a favorite to win at the Alabama track yet again.

Logano won after leading 70 of the 188 laps at the 500-mile race. Rounding out the top five finishers were Kurt Busch, Chase Elliott, Kevin Harvick and Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Auburn head coach Mickey Dean Thursday, Feb. 8, 2018, during in NCAA softball game against Marshall at Jane B. Moore Field in Auburn, Ala.

Source Article

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.